New Barnstable County Economic Development Council holds its first meeting

Members of the Barnstable County Economic Development Council
Woody Mitchell, Julie Wake, Peter Karlson, Diane Pratt, Rob Brennan, Duane Fotheringham, Alisa Galazzi, Su Moran, Tammi Jacobsen, Lauren Barker, Lisa Guyon (missing from photo: Sheryl Walsh, Terri Ahern and Ron Beaty)

Barnstable County renewed its focus on regional economic development strategies with the  April 30th inaugural meeting of the new Barnstable County Economic Development Council (BCEDC).  The BCEDC will serve as an advisor to Barnstable County and was established to guide economic development policy for our growing and unique Cape Cod economy. New council members represent a broad range of community economic development interests including: arts & culture, technology development, small business, construction, home building & remodeling, the ‘blue economy’, education and healthcare sectors, workforce development, banking and lending, regional planning and county governance.

The BCEDC leadership team was appointed by the Barnstable County Commissioners to guide regional decisions to foster a healthy economy offering a range of employment opportunities at livable wages for year-round residents and to protect the regions natural and built assets today and in the future.

During its introductory meeting, members were briefed by Cape Cod Commission staff on duties of the BCEDC, include their role as the Cape Cod Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) Committee and Economic Development District (EDD) governing board. In this role, the council will guide the development of and approve the 5-year CEDS document and oversee its implementation.

The 2013 Federal Economic Development Administration authorization of Barnstable County as an EDD was a recognition of our region’s commitment and capacity to support regional economic development and provides access to federal programs for infrastructure and economic development funding.  Over the next 12 months the BCEDC will oversee the development of the next full five-year CEDS strategy including public outreach and opportunities for broad public input.

New council membership includes 11 voting members with three additional ex-officio members. Board Members include: Harold “Woody” Mitchell, Cape Cod Commission Chair; Julie Wake, Arts Foundation of Cape Cod; Peter Karlson, NeuEon; Diane Pratt, Home Builders & Remodelers Association of Cape Cod; Rob Brennan, CapeBuilt Homes; Duane Fotheringham, Hydroid; Tammi Jacobsen, Cape Cod Community College; Lauren Barker, Cape Cod Young Professionals; Terri Ahern, Cape Cod Healthcare; Lisa Guyon, Cape Cod Healthcare (temporarily representing Terry Ahern); David Augustinho, Cape & Islands Workforce Development Board; Sheryl Walsh, Cooperative Bank of Cape Cod; Alisa Galazzi, Housing Assistance Corporation; Su Moran, Barnstable County Assembly of Delegates; and Ron Beaty, Barnstable County Commissioner.

To see related documents, and agendas and minutes of future meetings visit the BCEDC website .




Translate »